Beyond Salsa Piano is a history and anthology of the role of the piano in the Cuban rhythm section – from its first appearance to the present. In a broader sense, it’s a study of the tumbao – the art of creating music from layers of repeating rhythmic and melodic phrases. Whether these syncopated figures are called tumbaos, guajeos, montunos, riffs or vamps, this Afro-Cuban concept lies at the heart of nearly every popular music genre from salsa to rock , funk, R&B, hiphop and jazz.

While presented as a set of method books, the series doubles as a history course and record collecting guide for listeners, dancers, and players of instruments other than the piano.

Perhaps the most important goal of the series is to provide a comprehensive understanding of how tumbaos are constructed, their central role in the texture of Latin music of all eras, and the endless possibilities they provide for creative composing and arranging.

Ay Dios Amparame

Artist:   Los Van Van

Style Released Album Tracks Charts
Timba 1995 10 0


© 1995 Caribe Productions. All rights reserved.
Audio album download includes album tracks, liner notes and cover art.
All audio tracks in MP3-VBR format. About LPM album downloads.
# Name Play Time Info
01  Ya Empezo La Fiesta
Alternative text
5:57 Juan Formell bajo, director
02  Hay Mujeres
Alternative text
6:56 César Pedroso, Boris Luna piano, teclado
03  Deja La Ira
Alternative text
5:26 Manuel Labarrera, Julio Noroña congas, güiro
04  De Igual A Igual
Alternative text
7:03 Hugo Morejón, Edmundo Pina trombones
05  Soy Todo
Alternative text
8:29 Alvaro Collado, Jorge Leliebre trombón, flauta
06  La Fruta
Alternative text
7:14 Gerardo Miró, Pedro Fajardo violines
07  Camina Pa'que Te Conozcan
Alternative text
5:28 Dagoberto González, Samuel Formell violín, timbales
08  Abusadora Me Entere
Alternative text
5:23 Pedro "Pedrito" Calvo cantante
09  De La Habana A Matanzas
Alternative text
6:50 Mario "Mayito" Rivera cantante
10  Hoy Se Cumplen Seis Semanas
Alternative text
10:41 Roberto "Robertón" Fernández cantante
Another in the unbroken string of masterpieces from Los Van Van, this album includes the great "Soy todo", ranked #1 by the readers of, terrific Mayito versions of "De La Habana a Matanzas" and "Seis semanas", and the debut of Roberto "Robertón" Hernández who sings "Deja la ira" and the incredibly great "Camina pa' que te conozcan". Manolín fans will recognize "Deja la ira" and "Soy todo" as the songs that Robertón and Mayito quote in their famous cameo appearances on "Pegaíto pegaíto" from De buena fe. -- Kevin Moore of